August 10, 2008

I’m back to writing…sorta

Posted in personal at 10:08 pm by LB

Well, my week of catching up ended up being filled with other, very exciting, things.  I got a job adjunct teaching, I defend my Master’s thesis on Wednesday, and I’m doing GRE prep for retaking the exam for my PhD applications (the cash-cow that is the GRE is only accepted by grad schools for 5 years…then you gotta shell out the big bucks all over again).  So I didn’t really get to catch up on reading like I wanted, hence very little recommended reading links.

For the rest of the month, my posting will likely be lighter than in previous months as I have lots of course prepping to do, which is so frustrating because there has been so much I’ve wanted to write about.  But for the next week or so, expect a bit of posting on the Olympics.

2 Comments »

  1. Tracey said,

    Ugh. I didn’t realize the GRE was only good for 5 years. I’ve already taken the dang thing twice in an effort to improve my scores. Sounds like if I work or take any time off between Masters and PhD, I’ll have to go through that mess again! Thanks for the info, though. I won’t throw out my flashcards.

    Also, if you want a good online spot to study GRE vocabulary, I recommend freerice.com. The ads on the site generate revenue that gets donated to world food banks for rice. It shows you how much rice you have earned for someone in need as you go.

  2. lindabeth said,

    Thanks for the tip! It feels ridiculous to say that last time I took the exam I hardly used the internet but in 2002, I really didn’t!


Leave a Reply

